behaviors · cleaning · cleaning up · Culling · dehoarding · Digging Out from Under · Getting Organized · Hoarding · learning · Making Home · New Habits · organization · psychological stuff · stuff · workarounds

Slowly Back To It

I have all kinds of crud in my lungs. Used to be every time this happened, I got bronchitis and then was sick another week. It was always the last stage of my cold.

However, those were the years when I smoked. And I now haven’t smoked 2x as many years as I did. The difference is that I am not coughing up as much, and I feel much better today than I did yesterday, that’s the semi-good news. The bad news is that I am managing to get things done in about 5-10 minute blocks, and then I’m just wiped out.

I’ve been working on a couple of new ideas here: floating clutter and finishing chores (or getting them to a set midpoint).

Floating Clutter are those things which may (or may not) have a home,but rarely seem to be in their home. The pepper grinder that seems to always live on the table, even though it should be put away on the side board is an example.

I have decided two things: 1)Floating Clutter is what it is because it’s too difficult to put it away, for _____ reason. 2)I’ve been trying to find new places to put those things away.

Things are tidier here than they usually are, because I’m concentrating on finding and putting away or relocating the floating clutter.

Finishing things is because I realized there are a lot of pieces here for projects which weren’t started, jobs which seem (and are) too big to get finished in one session of work.

These project items are likely to be culled these days or put in a box if I can’t deal with them now. I’m tired of looking at them, moving them, and their generally being in the way.

house with bookcase

The too big to finish thing as a stopper is being worked on. Some work is better than NONE so I’m working hard at finding partial steps I can do and finish now, rather than ignoring the piece because I don’t have the time/resources, etc. to do all of it NOW.

One result of this is that the top of the washer/dryer are cleared again. (The laundry was a big job, got nibbled at until it was done.) And the kitchen counter is also cleared again, same strategy.

There are two boxes downstairs and one upstairs of project pieces.


Result? Cleaner house, less floating clutter. It’s all good!

2 thoughts on “Slowly Back To It

  1. “Floating clutter” — what a good term!  I, too, struggle with this.  I also, struggle with jobs that are too big to finish at one time. Today, I finished one job that I haven’t gotten to because of the rain.  I have books to mail to our granddaughter.  (I may have told you that I’m always looking for kids’ books at the transfer station.  We’ve had a bunch to mail for over a month, but I was too busy with tax season, the boxes we had weren’t the right size because they ended up being too heavy, and I store it all in the trunk but didn’t want to get the books wet in the rain.With a sunny day today, I decided to do the job.  I ended up using the boxes we had but adding another box and not filling them full.  They are now packed, taped, addressed and ready to go.  Victory!!!Thanks for continuing to spur me on.Margie

Leave a comment