More Minimalism, Sort Of. . .

I found another one of those lists. On this list that I do buy: drinks from Starbucks (when we’re there, it’s an hour away), usually I get them free with stars. I do buy newspapers, on Sunday. It tells us about events happening around our rural area and we like the comics and articles. (And, yes, we’ve been known to start the wood stove with them or use them for shipping materials as well.)

No “as sold on TV” things, well that one’s pretty easy. We haven’t had a TV in > 10 years. Books? Well, yes, I do still buy books. I am who I am after all.

I think our minimalism is more like, cut it down until you don’t have excessive extras. I cleaned out an area earlier this week and found a stapler. Fine. Took it up to the office, where staplers should live, right? We had 2 there already. I couldn’t find one when I wanted it and hauled the one from the kitchen to the office. Then I located the office’s designated stapler. And yesterday, the other. So. . .for the moment there is an office stapler and a stapler on my desk.  The kitchen stapler went back to the kitchen. If/when I move to the other office again (this summer hopefully?) I’ll take the 2nd office stapler with me. Two offices, two staplers. We use the one in the kitchen to seal herbs in brown paper bags in summer to dry them, amongst other things.

Do I really need 3 staplers? No. But it’s convenient. Until it stops being so, I’ll keep them. I could get by with just one, DH hardly uses them at all, but it’s always on the wrong floor, or in the wrong room. (I tried that.)

Other things I’m going to do which are not minimalist. I’m going to make 24 monthly envelopes from fabric for the current and past years’ accounting papers. Why? Because at the moment I’m using manila envelopes, and they’re all over the place as I’m doing the 2016 taxes.

manila envie

I’m tired of opening up the envelopes to find this or that, then closing them, then shuffling thru the stacks of manila envelopes trying to find the RIGHT one. Not now, not til after the taxes are done, but then I’m going to make 2 matching expanding envelopes for each month. I will no longer have to have 24+ envelopes for the 2 years’ worth of data. Three year old data can be filed in the filing cabinet.

If I were really going minimalist, I’d close the business. That won’t happen until the storage is empty and I’ve culled, sold, or whatever the excess stuff. And maybe not then? I’ve been selling things a long time now. Wonder what I’d do otherwise?

 

2 responses to “More Minimalism, Sort Of. . .

  1. I love this….convenience is something I don’t think the die-hard minimalists really think about. (Or maybe they live in smaller houses?) Our convenience item is scissors. Now that older daughter has taken up sewing I’m thinking about buying another pair, just to make sure we have a pair WHEREVER they’re needed….I feel like I’m forever looking for scissors.

    • We did that too. Right after we were married, we bought 3 pairs of good, office type scissors. Sometimes I can find one of those, although I haven’t been able to lay my hands on more than 2 of them in a long,long time now. However, we bought an auction lot last year of scissors. Mostly manicure size. I sold some of the extras and donated others. These days, I can usually put hands on at least 1 pair of scissors when I want to. The hair thinning shears and barber scissors are stored in the bathroom and never leave there. The button hole scissors were put in the drawer which holds the sewing box (when it’s put away). That said? I usually can find at least one pair, but it should really be easier than it is after buying an entire box FULL!

Leave a Reply

