Magical Cats

It seems to me that there are two distinct classes of cats: plain cats and magical cats.

The magical cats are smart, know, understand and “herd” their humans into behavior they want. My last magical cat was a lockpick, would rip open a bag of cat food if her bowl was empty and it was there, was a terrific huntress, and taught me a lot, about myself, life and cats. The cat we’d had before her, my “old” cat, was also a magical cat.

We had a  plain cat in the middle there, who ran away. Not too smart, annoying habits, and had little or no sense of where you were/were going. Sort of egotistical and completely preoccupied with food, where the magical cats certainly enjoy their feed, but it isn’t their job. The job of a magical cat is to educate and guide the stupid humans I think. The other cats only want the free ride, the shelter, food, and protection — and in return will hunt now and then, purr, etc. the baseline cat give backs.

Life is more interesting with a plain cat. But life with a magical cat is educational, interesting, and generates stories you tell and retell, whether the cat still graces your life or not.

magical-cat

That’s another difference, plain cats tolerate you. Magical cats enrich your life. And you can’t tell what a cat is or will become until you live with them. Some cats transform themselves into magical cats, others simply remain plain cats.

I think this is why some people don’t like cats and others of us love them.

Years ago, a lady came in the bookstore carrying a small dog, like a Yorkie. She had to leave very soon because she had a young pup in the car. She got the pup out and the pup and I had a great time on the grass. She tried to sell me the pup. First, I didn’t have $100+ for a pet I didn’t need (already had a dog); and second, she said, “You can carry them everywhere, like a baby — and they never grow up!” (big grin). And, if I hadn’t already decided no, I couldn’t have the dog, that would have done it. I would have loved to have a child, if it had been meant to be. But a kid that never grows up? No thank you!!!

I’ve had magical dogs and “just” dogs too, so I think this idea applies there as well.

3 responses to “Magical Cats

  1. I like your take on cats; very unique and interesting. I am more of a dog person BUT I do love my cats. When I was still living in NJ my cat Sabrina disappeared ~ on July 4 (not kidding). I went bonkers! Put up flyers everywhere including gasoline pumps. I had a neighbor who I suspected practiced Santeria and I even went to their house and accused them of sacrificing my cat! Yep, went a bit crazy over a cat I had a love/hate relationship with. Then as mysteriously as she took off she appeared one night 6 weeks later during a rain storm. Even moved to Maine with me and lived a good long life.

  2. You are not the first to speak to me of magical cats. We have had one magical, and one “plain vanilla” (or I guess he would be Butterscotch) – Linda K.

    Linda Tiernan Kepner http://www.lindatkepner.com

  3. Linda, I’d say so. I’ve heard some stories of the magical cat and I met the butterscotch, a very nice cat, but not up to the standard of the cat in the stories.

Leave a Reply

