Rugs and Flat Files and Timing — Oh My!

Yesterday I came home and DH had started working on cleaning up the flat file, with Johnson’s wax, which I’m really sensitive to. Headache, sniffles, etc. ensued and I didn’t accordingly get anything done in the living room last night while it de-stinkified and the wax cured.

Today, we’ve discussed next steps, the scope of the living room painting job, and decided that the final paint will be ordered from the next paycheck. That gives me time to finish the wall prep and primering before the paint arrives.

The only other pieces we might need to buy for this effort are trim: bullseyes for the hall doors (maybe trim for the untrimmed doorway?) and cove moulding for 2 log wall corners.We should have everything we need to prep and then paint the entire room, including part of the stairs, the entry and hall. Decided to leave the untrimmed doorway the way it is. 8/8/16.

I really like the unfolded rug and so does the cat. She was scampering all over it when it was first unfolded and has been running back and forth across it as the corner is filled with boxes, etc. It’s very bright and cheery, although it does not match my color scheme or style vibe for the rest of the house. It’s very 1950s modern in its colors and feel, but it’s thick and does its job well, so we’re going to ignore the color issue and live with it. If I knew how to use my loom well enough, I’d make us a rug to replace it, in my colors, but I don’t, so it is what it is. It’s a $200+ rug I paid $50 for which would take me a year or more to make. We’ll just leave it alone and live with it. If we ever get rich, maybe I’ll move it into the attic and find/have made a rug to replace it, but in the meantime, it’s where it is, and will stay there. If our finances change or I  find another which works as well AND fits my color scheme, I’ll change it.

The current attic rug is the very first rug we ever bought, from Habitat, for our first house. It has one characteristic I’ve looked for in every rug since: It’s double sided. I used it in the “library” of our second house, and it has been in the attic here for some time.

More moving boxes and furniture to do today, and maybe the wallboard prep will start tonight, maybe. As usual, our weekend days have 3 or more items to do than can be done in any sort of sane fashion.

We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

