Keeping & Culling: as It Goes

We went to an auction not too long ago. In the process I’ve now got two of a few long-term keep items. One of them was given to me as a gift and we’ll give the gifted piece to a local teacher/speciality school where it can be used. (And because it was a gift, no, I won’t talk about what it is or what we got to replace it!)

The second was a sewing machine. I have an old steel “portable” Singer in a case. It’s solid steel I paid $20 for it, right after we got to this area. Then I took it to a sewing/vac shop and had it “reconditioned” and it has been running fine, ever since. Except that it doesn’t do anything fancy and has a hard time with almost anything thicker than regular cotton.

So at the auction we bought a Morse 600 sewing machine, “portable” in a case. If anything it’s bigger and heavier than the Singer, but these were used for commercial sewing frequently and are known to be heavier duty than most Singers of the same era. The sewing/vac place still exists, so the Morse was hauled over there. The cost was prohibitive, so we decided to do much of the work ourselves.

There’s a box of attachments for the Morse, I just have to find out what they were for/how to use them. I didn’t have any attachments for the Singer.

The third item is a carbon steel cleaver. I didn’t have a cleaver. We had a chopping blade DH got overseas when he was in the service, that sold this month. The chopping knife was impractical for actual use! Lo and behold, a week, two? after it sold, one of my fave sources had this lot of 4 knives. Two I’ll sell, but two I’ll keep. If even one of the for sale knives sells, it will pay for the two I kept and the lot — my favorite type of deal!

So, yes, we’re buying things, but we’re also culling as we go. When  a new item is an upgrade for something we already own, it’s kept and the other sold or donated. This doesn’t reduce the amount of “stuff” in the house. It does, however, mean that we’re more likely to take care of the items because we value them. I’m all about getting things which will endure and are functional, rather than putting up with whatever I can afford, which is what I did years past. At this point, I’d rather do without than have junk.

 

J

 

Leave a Reply

