Memoir Work

One sensible suggestion made by an editor friend was that I may have to simply retype the memoir to get a clean, uncorrupted file.

With that in mind, I retyped the front matter and chapter 1 this week, 10 pages total. It took me about 2 hours. The entire thing is about 90 pages total, which means, assuming that I type at approx. the same rate,  it will take me about 18 hours to retype the entire thing, or 16 more hours to finish it.

I expect the remainder will be faster than the first 10 pages because there are no title or half title pages, no dedication, no author’s word, just text and some illustrations. Call it 100 pages by the time I add a back cover and the illustrations inside. That’s still only 18 more hours, and it could save me an incredible amount of fighting with the vestiges of multiple edits, multiple sources, multiple computers and software.

Makes sense.

I was afraid that I would go through an emotional rollercoaster retyping the first chapter. But I will say that it’s an indication of how much I’ve healed  — that didn’t happen.

What pushed on me was the ever-growing  “in memoriam” list in the dedication. I’ve added two people in just the last six months. Mind, there is only one person in the dedication I don’t actually know, Paul McCartney.  He’s there for “Hey Jude,” as I couldn’t have written the thing if I’d jumped off that cliff long ago. I didn’t because of “Hey Jude,” so I think he belongs in the dedication. But, as I said, he’s the only person named there I haven’t met.

Hey, guess what world?

I can actually grow up at some point!

Having a career/life which isn’t based on being a wounded child is a new outlook for me. I’m a bit apprehensive and jazzed, as I think I should be.

Onward!

Leave a Reply

