A Ramble

Last week I took the oak desk chair and the last spinner to the antique booth. The spinner is priced at $5, cheap enough for anyone who wants a bookstore or relic or whatever to get it on a whim. The chair I think I priced at $25, but I’ve had a 25% off sale on general antiques for some time, so it will be sold for less than that, which is great! Hopefully when I get to the booth this week, both items will be out of my life.

Otherwise, I spent a fair amount of time figuring out how to package vintage trim to put it in a booth for sale yesterday. Then I cleaned around the bed, to the ground. Pitched stuff, put things away, etc. Lots of things were just “moved.” It’s obvious that in order to actually CLEAN this house I’m going to have to find a way to deal with the things which have no homes.

I did solve that problem for a perpetual rock with nowhere to live yesterday though. Our little vac, the semi-portable one, has never had a “home.” It does now.

There has never been places for any of the vacs to be stored. I have no broom closet. (What might be my broom closet got usurped for stuff long ago.) There are 4 vacs in this house, one upright downstairs, one upright upstairs, one shop vac in DH’s workshop, and the portable vac. There’s another in pieces around (in the attic?) which can wash/dry floors, but we’ll probably ditch that soon as we haven’t had all the pieces for some time. (We may have already?) The “flying saucer” vac (floated in a pocket of air) which I had (of course!) for the bookstore is long gone. But still. We have far too many, especially for appliances which are both portable and have no “homes.” They have places they are regularly “stashed,” but this is in plain sight and therefore, in my book, they aren’t “put away.”

Putting things away, unless their away spot is in a bookcase or they’re decorative, means away. I will not buy/make little cutesy doll/covers to go over the uprights. Or, I suppose, if I did, I’d make a robot or something, but I really don’t want cutesy dolls hiding tools. Another solution would suit me better!

My desk is a  mess again, with books & papers piled high. Need to go thru another batch o’ books and either price them/take them to the booth (did that last week) or donate them. In the middle here, I need to finish the data gather for the taxes.

So, life is pretty normal here, except that it’s warm instead of the usual wintry mix March gets. Happy Spring Forward day!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

