On Matters of Domestic Economy: Spices, Cleaning, Using What you Have

Ah, the glamorous life of the self-employed . . . I just spent an hour on my hands & knees high suction vacuuming the landing carpet in a cross-hatch pattern.

It has been cleaned, but not deep cleaned for some time. Because it’s the main path to the bath, bedroom, attic and office, it is used, daily — but not cleaned often enough for such a high traffic location.

I should deep clean it at least monthly. I haven’t, for oh, to be generous, “It’s been some time.”

Been pecking away at the other cleaning and storage problems. One problem I’ve not had a solution for is platters, cookie sheets, that is, larger flat things. The cabinet where our spices are is underutilized. The spices and the shelves they’re on overfill it, but there’s a lot of  empty space there too. Last night I realized that this old retail bottle rack I had might fit my favorite spice bottles?

It does. So, if I move the spices into the rack atop the counter, then I can potentially move the platters, cookie sheets, etc. into the narrow cabinet instead of it being used as a spice rack. There’s extra spices stored elsewhere, so it doesn’t store everything. Adding the rack isn’t going to change that, but it might make something else work better.

We’ll see!

J

Leave a Reply

