Working On It

Okay, I’m trying to get where the house just gets cleaned and maintained (entirely different things I’ve discovered).

Cleaning something, really cleaning it, is what traditionally “Spring Cleaning” or other seasonal cleaning is for. I want to do that year ’round, as I’ve said, no seasonal gluts of heavy cleaning. However there are tasks that are driven by the seasons, no matter what. I haven’t quite figured out how to do this entirely, that’s still in progress.

I have found a cleaning product I like as I’m not allergic to it, like most products of its type. I’m so in love with this cleaning product that in one week I cleaned (not maintained) 6 door surfaces (pantry in/out, hall closet in/out, l bath/out, entry door/in, both entry walls, two leather club chairs, a side table and the coat rack, its shelf and the boxes that live on the shelf! The product is this stuff.

For someone who’d largely given up on commercial cleaning products because all the solvents get to me, it’s wonderful to find something that I don’t have to melt, concoct or do anything other than just use. Many antique dealers I know use their restore product, which is why when I found this at a mom & pop store not far from here, I grabbed it. I’ve used about 20% of the bottle and I expect to use a good deal more of it in the near future.

Last week I bought a “dish holder” one of those wall hung display racks, sort of like this one:

dish rack

I have no wish to steal someone’s image! This came from here. If the rack I found was the size of the above rack, I’d have kept it. It’s a double wide thing and much too big for the space where I wanted one! So, it’s getting painted white and will be put up for sale.

Paints, like cleaning products, have been a particular problem; I’m allergic to solvents in most latex paints too. I “found” milk paint and that’s better, but still not great. (They have a new “organic” line I haven’t tried, I will.) In the meantime, I discovered chalk paint. Most DIY chalk paint recipes are built on a base of plain latex paint, which of course won’t do. Annie Sloan paints are made in England and there were no sellers near me when I looked. I found Cece Caldwell’s paints, made in the USA and sold pretty close to me. Expensive? Yep,  but no primer and next to no smell at all. I’m using this one:

Also this past week, I finally figured out what to do with the “3 tons” (well a large quantity anyway) of left over shirt pieces and bits of tarn from rug making. When  it’s more than just an idea, I’ll take pics. Many of the “projects” I”m undertaking these days are to use up stuff, notably craft supplies. I have a room full and although I could maybe sell whatever (there are multiple websites for this) I’d really rather have the satisfaction of using the things I’ve acquired, admired, and hoarded for so long. What’s the point of keeping it if you don’t use it or won’t? I’m not Gollum or a giant sitting on my hoard! I’m a nearly old woman who’s trying to use up her stash.

I had some wool gift yarn, really I mean wool? Yep, it was wool yarn, but not for knitting. It looked like the chunky acrylic gift tying yarn popular in the ’60s. I crocheted flowers out of it. Only enough for 6 flowers, they’re  gift tags for family members. That emptied that spool. Next? Dunno, but I’ll find something, use it up, then go on to the next. I’m on a mission. I have a high school friend who wants to visit. Our “guest room” is my office/the craft room. I have to get enough stuff out of there so we can get a bed in it again. Hopefully by next spring or at the latest, next fall. So, I’m on a mission!

The living room project is still being whittled away at. There’s less stuff, probably every week and what’s left in the room is cleaner. Still not where it needs to be, but better. I have to accept better as the progress it is because I’m not likely to meet my personal goal: to have it done by Thanksgiving, next Thursday.

I’ve realized that no matter what, there’s a certain amount of organizational “bones” have to be in place before getting and keeping a house clean can be accomplished. To that end I wrote A-D on the inside corners of our bed frame, the matress, and the “feather bed” (actually an extra down comforter)  today, to aid me with “turning” them to even out the wear. A was in the far corner from where my head usually goes, B where my feet are, C where my head is and D at the last corner. At the moment all 3 sets of letters are in the same place. I’m going to make a chart so that I can turn the “feather bed” more often than anything else and turn the mattress every quarter or 2x a year. The bed frame obviously won’t change!

I hope you and yours have a happy, safe and healthy holiday season!

Leave a Reply

