Tracking . . . .

I have a lot of different things I’m trying to do at the same time.

  • The new job(s). Research/write/proofread article or blog. Sell ads (2 jobs, 4 tasks)
  • Sell stuff. Find/buy stuff for sale. Price it, move it, arrange it, store it or cull it. (1 job, 7 tasks)
  • Write. Other than the things for money/publication. That’s this blog, the memoir, the other 3 or so book projects. The book that we just sold the idea to our publisher, the kitchen book, and maybe the novel cycle (if the revised idea goes anywhere). (5 items)
  • The house. Clean/redecorate/cull/organize/garden. (1 job, 5 tasks)

Most of these are long term, multistep projects I pick up then put down. Do something else.

Pick up . . . and try to remember what I was doing last?
I have devised a plan to help me be able to KNOW where I was when I quit last.  I need a visual way to both see the progress AND as a memory prod. To that end, I bought library pockets and colored, unprinted library cards to go with them.  I’m going to use the cards & pockets to give me a visual and a way to track what I’ve done and what needs to be done.

I have a huge cork board in the craft room, I’m going to use that, I think. In the meantime, I need to come up with some sort of plan to organize this, but I think it will work, at least for a while. And if it doesn’t? Well, I know a librarian or two I can probably persuade to take the supplies off my hands or I could maybe find a way to sell them. Also, I didn’t buy so many that I couldn’t store them, if I wanted to, but I probably won’t.

Making up the pockets has helped. There are 3 major areas here: writing, the house, and selling.

The things I ended up making pockets for can be further divided into two categories: product and process. The products are the end point, in most cases, but the house is entirely process. Here’s the break down:

Write: blog, memoir, other, article (products) Write: research, proof & revise (process)

House: clean, decorate, organize, cull (process)

Sell: ads, stuff (products) Sell: buy/track, clean/appraise, store, cull (all process)

One response to “Tracking . . . .

  1. The first day I didn’t do so well, or maybe I did just fine with this? I had a tax appt at lunchtime. Spent my morning getting data together for that. Went to the appointment, had lunch. Did some shopping (didn’t buy anything except 1 book). Went to the gym. Went to dinner with my hunny. So, aside from the accounting, which certainly counts, none of the “next steps” in my pockets were done.

Leave a Reply

