One of the groups I’m in had this get rid of it list

I think it’s a great list, but some of it seems wasteful and bizarre to me. I can’t imagine buying so many phone covers that you need to purge the extras? I may buy one sometime soon, because I keep hitting the buttons on my phone by accident. But aside from that, and a friend’s suggestion that I get one, I’d never even considered buying such a thing! The list points out things that I do have problems with: books, papers,  etc. but many items they talk about are things I don’t buy, or I only have/buy a few, so excess really isn’t a problem for me. Or, many of the items are things that I simply don’t have and didn’t, like prom dresses. I think I went to 1 prom with a long dress — maybe.

My comments are in bold. I updated this 11/2016. If I’ve eliminated a problem, it’s now struck through. New comments may have been added at the end.

  1. The other side of a pair of lost earrings Since I almost never wear earrings, I don’t think this pertains? I may have 5 pairs?
  2. Scraps of wrapping papper Go in the craft supplies or pitched, depending on size
  3. Cards people have given you with no sentimental value Usually pitched pretty much right after I read them.
  4. Receipts you don’t need One of my problem areas
  5. Ticket stubs Haven’t kept ticket stubs since I was a kid
  6. Socks with holes Make great dusters
  7. Old t-shirts Turn them into rugs
  8. Leftover change Throw out money? Are you nuts? I still use change and when I get too much I stuff my wallet until it gets used up — pennies and all. I don’t keep it anyway!
  9. Dried flowers Yep
  10. Magazines Depends if there’s enough in them to keep the magazine intact, otherwise I try t0 clip the articles I want. Working on this.
  11. CDs We still have a CD player
  12. Hair elastics that have lost stretchiness Get pitched as they wear out.
  13. Hair accessories you don’t use Yep see 12
  14. Shoes that don’t fit or that you don’t wear I think I have 8 pairs of shoes?
  15. Extra photo prints This is fine for snaps.
  16. Little knickknacks (designate a bowl and fill it) Too vague. I purge junk regularly.
  17. Kitchen things you don’t use Get sold or donated
  18. Cooking utensils you have two of See 17
  19. Tired bras When they break, they’re tossed.
  20. Scarves you never wear I think I have 3 scarves?
  21. Clothes that don’t fit Well. . .
  22. Gifts you don’t like Yep.
  23. Old towels Become “cat towels” and are used for animal bedding, car clean up, etc.
  24. Old makeup If it’s old, I’m allergic to it. This isn’t a problem. If I put something on and my face begins to itch, the container is pitched right after I clean off my face!
  1. Old toiletries Like what?
  2. Old or unused hangers I purge hangers all the time. I keep getting rid of old plastic hangers & replacing them with older wood/metal hangers. I hate plastic!
  3. Expired or sample-sized toiletries Don’t buy them.
  4. Extra buttons They’re in the craft supplies
  5. Expired sauces Get pitched
  6. Toys your pets don’t play with N/A recently, but the last pet, a cat, her favorite toy was a twist tie. Current Cat1 plays with anything which is tossed. Cat2 isn’t comfortable enough with us, yet, to play.
  7. Expired medication Doh.
  8. Dried-up nail polish Don’t wear it.
  9. Bills you don’t need to keep See #4 Doing better
  10. Expired coupons As I find them, they’re pitched
  11. Old paperwork About what? Depends on what it is
  12. DVDs you don’t watch We may have 5?
  13. Snacks your pets don’t eat Given away with the extra cat food when the cat died. Cat2 was feral at least one year, she eats anything which resembles catfood, so far.
  14. Damaged clothing you can’t mend If it’s usable, it goes into the donation bin, otherwise it becomes rags or is added to the rug fabric collection.
  15. Stained clothing you can’t clean See #38
  16. Old prom dresses What prom dresses?
  17. Scratched nonstick cookware Never bought the stuff
  18. Old underwear or swimwear that’s losing its stretch Yep, it goes out ASAP
  19. Outdated electronics Not my area
  20. Rusty jewelry What rusty jewelry?
  21. Stockings with runs Great for tying up tomato plants and they only last one year, so they’re pitched in the fall
  22. Pens that don’t work Pitched regularly
  23. Clothing you’ve outgrown See #21
  24. Necklaces and bracelets with broken clasps Get repaired
  25. Cables and wires you don’t use Not my area
  26. Worn-out sheets and bedding Join the rag bin
  27. Empty or near-empty bottles of cleaning products Get used up and the empty bottles or cans tossed. Most of my cleaning supplies these days are soap, water, toothpaste, coconut oil, vinegar and baking soda, so this isn’t a  problem. I have donated stuff I no longer use to friends or taken it to the swap shop.
  28. Old mending buttons for clothing you no longer have Go in the craft supplies
  29. Worn-out bath mats What bath mats? I use rugs, these days one that I made from old tshirts.  Currently two made from yarn.
  30. Broken electronics Get repaired, sold, or taken to the dump
  31. Purses you never use Since I never carry a purse this would be pretty easy. Every now & then however, I need to and I do use one. I think I own 3?
  32. Flatware, plates, and glasses that don’t match the rest of your collection, plus dingy children’s plates you no longer use No kid’s plates for one thing. I don’t have any but one pattern of flatware and I sell off extra dishes.
  33. Old pillows Get them restuffed with a new cover for feather ones at your local dry cleaner. Cheaper than a new one.
  34. Worn-out shoes yep
  35. Wedding invites To whose wedding? Not mine.
  36. Save-the-dates Don’t get them.
  37. Wedding favors you don’t use Don’t have them.
  38. Old wallets that you don’t use Yep, they’re gone or being used.
  39. Broken kitchen equipmentLike what?
  40. Spare furniture parts you don’t need Yep
  41. Furniture manuals Furniture manuals? Most of my furniture was bought used, no manuals.
  42. Boxes I use ’em. I ship stuff and move things around a lot. I also get rid of boxes regularly, but I do keep some on hand.
  43. Unused vases I purged my vase collection a while back
  44. Extra tupperware you don’t need Never use it
  45. Old mail A problem Doing better about this.
  46. Junk mail Yep
  47. Travel brochures What travel brochures? We never go anywhere.
  48. Bobby pins I have one tin.
  49. Old crayons or art supplies, plus markers that have run out of ink Old crayons work just fine. Markers that run out of ink yep. Pens nope, they usually can be refilled, if not, they’re pitched
  50. Random containers and jars Depends
  51. Unused stationary, stickers, and sticky notes Except I use them?
  52. Ripped denim I use this too, mostly lately I’m using it for valentine’s decorations, for resale, I hope
  53. Old artwork or old children’s artwork Hmm no.
  54. Used and ripped envelopes Yep
  55. Broken or old iphone cases N/A
  56. Old unused batteries Dead batteries go to the dump regularly
  57. Extra and unused coffee mugs Purged some time ago
  58. Old spices Gone through regularly
  59. Address labels for your old house Certainly since we’ve been here for some time.
  60. Wrinkled ribbon and bows for gift wrap If it’s acetate, yes. If it’s cloth it can be ironed and then reused.
  61. Cards or gifts from exes I purged everything from my ex years ago
  62. Frequent shopper cards you never use Purged as the shops fold or stop their programs
  63. Matchbooks Don’t keep them, we have a woodstove, they get used.
  64. Old shopping bags Given to my local used bookstore, antique store or .  . . every month or so
  65. Old calendars Sold already gone
  66. Old folders Used or pitched
  67. Magnets On the fridge
  68. Clothes that are outdated or from college From college? I don’t have any clothes that old!
  69. Broken Christmas decorations Yep
  70. Christmas lights that don’t work yep
  71. Frayed towels Become cat towels see #23
  72. Expired food Regularly pitched
  73. Computer cords, firewire cord, etc. that you don’t use Not my area
  74. Old and outdated software Not my area
  75. CDs for old computer programs Not my area
  76. Old cell phones Get donated
  77. Hand-me-downs that you’re guilt-tripped into keeping Since I haven’t gotten an hand me down in over 1/2 my lifetime, this is N/A
  78. Freebie or promotional t-shirts you never wear I turn them into rugs, see 7 & 53
  79. Old fortune cookie fortunes Paper is my downfall
  80. Old bank statements Paper is my downfall
  81. Old planners Paper is my downfall
  82. Delete email subscriptions from sites Doing better at this.
  83. Delete emails you don’t need A problem
  84. Delete unwanted music from your iTunes We never buy anything but our faves. Why spend the $?
  85. Extra buttons that come with newly purchased clothes Go into the craft supplies.
  86. Games that are missing pieces What games?
  87. Old schoolbooks you’ll never use again Purged sometime ago
  88. Papers you have backed up on the computer N/A
  89. Books you’ve already read and don’t want to display Are you nuts? Books aren’t display items, they’re tools and friends. But I get rid of books regularly. This is a problem, but only because I had so many to begin with. My mom met my dad selling him books. He was a book collector. You think maybe I might have a few?
  90. Cell phone covers you’re over I’ve never had a cell phone cover.
  91. Old manuals to electronics Not my area
  92. Cell phone accessories you don’t use anymore not my area
4 responses to “One of the groups I’m in had this get rid of it list

  1. Hi J, I’m starting to purge a lot of crap that’s in our basement – never could figure out what to do with old vases, drinking glasses that are etched or cloudy, stuff like that – it just takes up so much room! Now I’m putting what I can in the recycling! This list is fun – there is a lot on there that I should get rid of – oh, I didn’t know you had an “ex”!
    Jan

  2. Excellent list. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

