What’s Bothering Me & a Status Report of Sorts

isn’t how many things I have or haven’t gotten rid of, it’s the lack of progress.

I brought home 2+ boxes of books from the storage yesterday. I have some things to get in the mail this morning, but aside from that expect to be sorting through and getting rid of stuff all day. My problem isn’t getting rid of the stuff, it’s that there’s still so much here!

I started a new page on the cleaning tracking yesterday, so I tallied things. From 8/15 to 9/15  I did my basic 4 things 24 days, about 75% of the time. I cleaned the following surfaces : 4 walls, 8 windows, 12 door/closet doors,  37 floors, and 2 ceilings. Is that perfect? Heck no!

My allocation is 1 lg/2 small walls, 4 windows, 1 door/closet door, 14 floors, 2 small,/1 med/ or half of a large ceiling a week. So the month should be 4x that, or conservatively 4 walls, 15 windows, 4 doors, 56 floors and 4 ceilings. Obviously, I fell well short of that.

However, for the 2nd month in a row the house is getting cleaned on a more regular basis and the tallying has given me yet more info. about myself and what I will or won’t do.  For some reason I don’t clean ceilings on Mondays or Wednesdays; don’t clean walls/windows on Wednesdays or Fridays? So I have problems cleaning on Wednesday.

In the great scheme of things, this is pretty silly. But data are data and the more I learn about what makes me tick the more I can use that to help myself accomplish my goals. If that means taking Weds. off the cleaning schedule down the road, it does.

4 responses to “What’s Bothering Me & a Status Report of Sorts

  1. I always have admired this systematicity. And the gathering of data. Rather than vagueness, it gives you a determination: Wednesdays are not good for me…I tend to not do what I had planned on that particular day, so…make changes that both minimize guilt and maximize accomplishment. I like this so much! But I too look around and think, why aren’t things getting hugely better? Still so much stuff. And it’s so easy to become discouraged…

    • I think so too! I just want to be sure that I don’t use it as a way to beat myself up, that’s a surefire way to make me stop doing whatever it is I”m doing!

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. We are in the middle of determining if we will move or stay in our home of 34 years. Looking around at all we’ve accumulated through those years is often discouraging – and overwhelming! In fact, sometimes I feel that we should just stay here so that we don’t have to go through all of that hassle. I’m a “collector” of hobby materials, I love fabric, yarn, paint, wool. My husband has his hobbies and we have much of what was in his parents house before they passed. Oh, and two daughters who still have a lot of their “stuff” here, haha! Not sure what will happen and I am trying to weed out what we should keep and what we should donate/throw out. Hard to do for sure…

Leave a Reply

