April Deadline, What’s Up?

I was gone almost all day yesterday (4/28) and I’ll be busy for the next few as well. I could, tonight, if I didn’t do anything else, file 500+ pieces, and I’d catch up with April’s goal before 5/1. But I’m not going to.

I have a high-stress day tomorrow and the stress will continue through Weds. I have a tax appt. Thurs, which means Weds. night will be spent gathering data, no time for filing, except as related to taxes. So, the earliest I can really do this without being  nutty is Thursday 5/3. I’ll do it then.

De-hoarding the house is stressful enough without layering it on top of other high-stress tasks. I can only do the de-hoarding because I’m world-class stubborn. Because I play it as a “game.” Because I refuse to live like my abuser did any longer. Because my husband and I really need a clean home.

I still have all those reasons I got here. If you think this is easy, then you’re not paying attention. I am not going to make a public circus of how and why I got here. This is NOT one of the hoarders shows. I cannot imagine letting anyone do that to me. I can’t imagine letting things go so much they’re a health hazard either, but. . . .

I had a professional organizer, years ago now, be really friendly to me, for a while. I thought she was my friend. She had in mind an early version of the Hoarder show. I didn’t even have to think about it; I just said “No.” and gee, guess what? She wasn’t friendly any more. Not a nice human being. I’m REALLY glad I didn’t let that person into my house!

J

4 responses to “April Deadline, What’s Up?

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your poor experience with that PO. But, I’m glad you’re not stressing yourself out over that goal. It’s there to push you a little, not over the edge. Hope your appointment goes well 🙂

    • Thanks! I have nothing agains POs, just that one person. And obviously, yes, I agree with you about the deadline. I caught up to 3/31 recently, and stressing about it won’t help. I DO have to find a way to ramp up what I do. By default, I seem to shed about 20 pieces a day, not enough to make this goal

      Which of course makes the monsters act up in the basement (so to speak) and that makes things harder.

      Oh well. All I really want is to be able to walk across my livingroom, etc. Doesn’t seem like a lot. But sometimes I think I’m climbing Mt. Everest!

      Thansk again —
      Teacup

  2. Beth (Elizabeth)

    You’re doing great! Don’t get down on yourself ’cause you are so making progress. Do what you can when you can.

  3. Thank you Beth! I’m out of town, spent the night at a friend’s. I noticed on the way here that I couldn’t close my wallet. So one stop I made was to an office supply store, and I bought tape & paper and I sheeted most of those receipts yesterday afternoon! That made me proud, even without planning it, without taking something extra with me to do so, I shed 45 things, of course, I bought 2, so only 43 count. But I’ll take it!

    Shedding about 20 things a day is something I can integrate into my day to day. Shedding more than that apparently takes deliberation and conscious effort.

    Thank you again Beth, my staunchest ally! It means a lot that you’ve been there through most of this effort! 😀

    J

Leave a Reply

