Decorating problems! (retitled post)

I’ve been doing something very dangerous, for me… I’ve been reading decorating and organizing books!

Dangerous? Well, sort of, it makes me want to dive into decorating the house, when of course I can’t; there’s too much stuff in the way. On the other hand, this is a good thing as it got me thinking about next steps.

For the laundry to pantry conversion: I’ve got room now, I can move the ironing board storage and get the first of the wire shelves I want for the pantry. If nothing else, I can start the summer vegetables there now.

In the living room: I can move the small retail shelves out towards the window, and put some plants there too.

In my office, about the same, although the plants have to go in trays on top of other things.

Obviously, I am READY for spring to happen, big time!

Because my mind is wandering down these verdant paths, I was also thinking about how to make the flower pots etc. that I use MINE not just mass produced pieces. I have a bunch of terracotta pots outside, and they can be painted with milk paint (which I already have), to whatever color scheme I choose.

Color schemes are one of my decorating “demons.” As usual, I like too many. I love bright slight pastels with black & white. I love that color scheme with bright red accents. But on the other hand, I love muted pastels with Swedish blue or blue-green accents too. The two do NOT seem to go into any cohesive whole. It’s problem!

The larger rugs in the house (mostly Crate & Barrel’s old “color block” area rugs) are the first, colors, black & white. The large hand-loomed rug is too. Originally, it was going to go into the living room, but it won’t fit. The wood stove on one side and the air intake for the furnace on the other side of the room take up too much space. If my friend Barbara was still alive, I’d ask her if she could customize it and I’m sure she would have, but I don’t know any other weavers. (The job would be a total pain, the rug is HUGE and HEAVY!)

My original notion was to make the intense colors/black & white mix downstairs in the public space and the muted pastel shades upstairs in the private spaces (bedroom, bath).

The black & white/intense color scheme is similar to this newer rug from Crate & Barrel:

The muted pastels color scheme is like this, sort of. I like more color than this too, but not much! (I’ll edit the photos to get the credits in there. Sorry!) [This image came from a BHG site. I cannot relocate the image to give credit where it’s due. ]

I love how thick and heavy the hand-loomed rug is. I love its brightness. I really don’t like that it’s just too damn big to go where I want it. It fits the room, the room doesn’t fit it! DH & I have talked for years about getting the intake for the furnace off the floor, we even had a quote from a guy who did duct work. Unfortunately, he retired before we could afford to have him do it, and we don’t know someone else who could do it. That’s a solvable problem, but it seems a bit extreme to do this NOW because I want to put a certain rug in the room?

Maybe I should just sell the rug? At the moment, it’s folded in 1/2 in the “dining room.” If we move the big, English antique table from the “dead corner,” the rug could probably be unfolded. That’s what  I think I had in mind. But I had this yummy notion of putting my feet down on the thick handmade rug in the middle of winter, like now. There’s still wall to wall  upstairs, something both of us want to change. (There’s no flooring under the rug, just plywood sub-flooring, and all the rooms upstairs are one big piece of carpet. Ideally, we’d do it all at once.)

THIS is the type of thing which causes me to own too many rugs, and have not enough space. Until we solve the design problem or decide to get the rug cut down, the final design of the living room, kitchen, and bedroom are in limbo.

Of course, it’s in limbo anyway, as  there’s too many boxes to actually move a rug in, but there are ways and there are ways. Most of the stuff in the living room came from our offices last October. The plan was to move all of it back into whichever room. We CAN go through the stuff and pare it down. It would be nice to actually be able to find some of the things that became “missing” as we did this!

I need to walk before I can run. So, today’s plan: make bread, freeze asparagus (I didn’t do it yesterday) and move things around/clean up the living room in front of the double windows enough that I can put the metal shelf there, with the idea that I’ll plant veggie seeds in pots.

I know myself, if I don’t do this with a reward system, I won’t get it done. So… .Asparagus first, it will ultimately probably take the longest.

First bread and kitchen cleanup, get the dishwasher going. Then start on the living room About the time I falter there, the bread should be filling the house with wonderful smells and the hot bread will provide a wonderful break probably right about lunchtime.

I’m off!

J

(Paper trail = 0)

2 responses to “Decorating problems! (retitled post)

  1. Crate & barrel link:
    http://www.crateandbarrel.com/decorating-and-accessories/area-rugs/zak-rug/f45681

    Whites/green link:
    (Can’t find the credit. I’ll go thru the history, but not now; it’s 6 minutes til midnight; I’m bushed!)

  2. Pingback: I just | teacupofwater

Leave a Reply

