Am I a hoader or not?

Okay.

I have seriously strayed; I’ve not been de-hoarding for weeks. . . still.

Told you I was depressed and not feeling motivated! Also, I’m just sick of whaling away at a seemingly endless job.

So, what to do? The most “bang for my buck” is working on the paperwork or the books. To that end, I will start a “paper report” and will display, daily, how many papers I sheet or file and/or how many books I catalog. I’ll humiliate myself into getting back on track. Usually, if nothing else works, that does. Like everyone, I like to at least pretend to be worthy of people’s time & attention; doesn’t everyone?

I’ve gotten all caught up in this “life on the computer” again, and just ignored my real life and house. It wasn’t the first time, no doubt it won’t be the last.

According to the Mayo Clinic, these are the symptoms of hoarding: I’ve commented in BOLD after if this fits me or not.

Symptoms

By Mayo Clinic staff

In the homes of people who are compulsive hoarders, the counter tops, sinks, stoves, desks, stairways and virtually all other surfaces are usually stacked with stuff. And when there’s no more room inside, the clutter may spread to the garage, vehicles and yard. TRUE

Hoarding affects emotions, thoughts and behavior. Signs and symptoms of hoarding may include:

  • Cluttered living spaces TRUE
  • Inability to discard items FALSE
  • Keeping stacks of newspapers, magazines or junk mail TRUE
  • Moving items from one pile to another, without discarding anything FALSE
  • Acquiring unneeded or seemingly useless items, including trash or napkins from a restaurant FALSE
  • Difficulty managing daily activities, including procrastination and trouble making decisions TRUE, sometimes
  • Difficulty organizing items FALSE
  • Shame or embarrassment TRUE
  • Excessive attachment to possessions, including discomfort letting others touch or borrow possessions FALSE
  • Limited or no social interactions FALSE

Of 10 symptoms, I’d say I have 4 and don’t have 6.

The Mayo Clinic also says:

People who hoard typically save items because they believe these items will be needed or have value in the future. MAYBE

A person also may hoard items that he or she feels have important emotional significance — serving as a reminder of happier times, for example, or representing beloved people or pets. SOMETIMES

People who hoard may report feeling safer when surrounded by the things they save. YES.

So, yeah, those characteristics I do have.

4 responses to “Am I a hoader or not?

  1. I wrote on someone else’s blog the 3 requirements as stated by the Institute for Challenging Disorganization (ICD). 1. You collect items of little or no value (what most would consider garbage). 2. You can no longer use areas of your home for their intended purpose (can’t cook in the kitchen). 3. It causes distress (either to the hoarders or to other family members or friends). Don’t be discouraged! We all have ups and downs. I sensed from this blog post that you really didn’t want to write it, either (you don’t typically have spelling errors). But it’s good to get it out so that others can encourage you 🙂

    • Of your list, I have 2 of 3. Someone who wasn’t a book person wouldn’t see my books as valuable, but as I’ve been a bookseller for >30 years I don’t really keep “junk” books. However, I DO have a lot of them and they keep me from using my house the way it should.

      Distressed? Yes. I hate being a wimp. I really don’t like the fact that I just can’t decide to DO THIS and DO IT. It makes me very frustrated with myself.

      Re the typos? Well that’s probably more to do wiith the fact that I nearly cut my finger off last night whilst making dinner and this is the 1st time in 2 days that I haven’t had a huge bandage & finger guard on it. (Although I’m favoring it, and not typing as well as usual eaither.)

      Lastly, the new blog is as “rough” as it is because I couldn’t figure out/find the button? to save it as a draft before I published it. Supposedly with the new wordpress stuff you can do that, but I haven’t figured it out yet!

      Thanks for the comments as always! Blessings to you —

      J

Leave a Reply

