Furniture ruminations…what to sell next?

We sold the dresser, formerly the bead dresser. . . Yay!

Even having sold 5 bookcases, a dresser, 4 dining chairs, 2 bar stools, a 3-legged stool, and a metal table since 1/15, we’ve still got too much furniture!

In all fairness, 1 bookcase, the 4 dining chairs and 2 bar stools were bought specifically for the booth and only stayed here long enough to be cleaned and one bookcase was at the antique store, but hadn’t been for sale before 1/15.

I am SO psyched! I considered 2 pieces my “anchors” in the booth, the dresser was one, the kids’ desk/chair is the other.  This morning I called someone who might want the desk/chair, especially if I offer it to him at its current price. I promised myself I’d leave it at the store till mid-month but told him it might be available then, if he’s interested? Hopefully, he will be.

DH has been working on his office and the white plastic bookcase is nearly empty. Good thing as the booth no doubt needs things rearranged to fill in where the dresser was.

There’s a desk credenza (currently buried in the living room) to sell. (Eventually, this got donated.)

We also need to figure out the kitchen tables? We have three!

  • A British antique streaky oak table we bought about year 2 of our marriage. DH’s grandfather had chairs that were also streaky oak and we were given 6 or 8 of them. The chairs have issues,the table has issues. It’s is a family table or kitchen table from about 1890 and it’s too big for just us. [We probably should refurbish these pieces this summer and sell the whole lot in the Fall maybe?] This table is currently shoved into the “dead” corner of our huge kitchen. The chairs are elsewhere. (Moved to antique store, for sale 8/2016,  table SOLD! Chairs are in attic.)
  • A blond modern oak table that fits us, but would be too small for a larger group really. We have 4 bow back wood chairs that were bought with it. The table & chairs were bought for my breakfast nook in Florida. [We had a dining room too.] I don’t have a dining room or breakfast nook space here. Right now, this table is in the “dining room” part of the kitchen.
  • An antique wrought-iron and marble console table. This is currently set up in the space that will become the mudroom. But it’s out of the way and is the kitchen “desk” right now. (Scheduled to go to a high-end antique store 9/2017)

My kitchen is huge, but if we’re going to change things around so that the one huge room becomes four smaller rooms (kitchen, dining, laundry, mudroom) and at least one table has to go, probably the antique one with the grandpa chairs, although I hate to lose the connection to our past. The table was one of the first real pieces of furniture we bought, not plastic or temporary, and I was honored to get grandpa’s chairs, a family heirloom to go with it. It seemed to blend us and our family wonderfully.

There’s the “old” graphics table, actually an oak desk, which is supposed to go into my office. (Sold.) The space where it’s supposed to go is currently occupied by the “daddy” dresser, which is also supposed to go away. (Finally did 8/2016) There’s what we called the “popcicle” table (Sold.) in the attic and probably there’s more. This weeding process is slow, too slow!

Today I either need to convince DH to empty the white bookcase (Sold) and haul it to the antique store, something I’m sure he won’t be enthusiastic about (We have ice under snow outside.) or badger him into hanging the other two flower pot shelves (Culled) in the booth and find something else to fill in the empty space at the booth. Mid-month everything needs to change! The booth needs to be completely rearranged for spring and all, or most, of the remaining furniture sold, consigned, or donated! Not sure what I’ll do, but the space has to have a new look, and soon. I also need to go to Goodwill or a few consignment shops. I need a new rug for the booth too. The one that’s there has been in my booth for over a year.

There’s still approx. 3 tables, some chairs and a few other pieces here to sell, around 8-10 more pieces, at least. No make that about 10-12 more pieces. I forgot about the 2 chairs in the storage!

I am getting seriously depressed the longer I write this post. I think I’ll quit!
J

One response to “Furniture ruminations…what to sell next?

  1. Pingback: Moving On . . . | teacupofwater

Leave a Reply

