Making it look good, with pics!

I finally recovered from not enough sleep, lots of physical labor, and driving 4 hour marathons cross-country!

I thought I’d be done around 3 yesterday, and the last few errands I added ALL took longer than I expected.

I went to the market, got cash out, got in the car, realized I hadn’t gotten my cash, and had to go back into the market. They pulled the teller’s drawer, and counted it. I got my $. But of course, it took time. I went to the framing shop and picked up the pieces I had waiting there and had the sample drawer front with me and then waited while the new ones were cut.

None of that was a problem, but going to the market and the framer were both errands I added because I’d finished early. By the time I got done, it was 5, not 3 p.m. and the previous days’ efforts and my now full day caught up with me all at once. I came home and went to bed.

Today, I’m still foggy a bit. It’s nearly noon and I could easily take a nap for 3 or 4 hours. Tomorrow I should be completely recovered.

The framing I picked up isn’t counted in the tally because I already owned/stored the items. One piece was already framed, had new glass put in. Another had a mat cut, DH needs to put together a frame for me. The drawer fronts ARE new, so they’re counted.

My office has 6 drawer units in it that previously held American Greeting card storage. I got them when a craft store went out of business and left them behind. They’re not the most robustly made things in the world, but they were made to take a beating. The drawer fronts that came with these were fake wood and I hate them.

fake wood drawer fronts, UG!


The framer got in a bargain lot of mat board I really liked, so that’s what I had him cut, and they’ve now replaced the fake wood pieces. That’s reflected in the tally. I’ve acquired some things on consignment, and those aren’t in the tally yet, I’ll add them when I get them in the data base later this week.

You can't tell, but these are silver/grey. This is 2 drawer units one on the other.


The photos are wonky and yellow, again, and one is out of focus, again. I have to get DH to give me enough photography lessons (or bludgeon (strike that, replace with cajole) ) him into taking pictures for me. This is what happens when you marry someone who’s been a professional photographer; you never take pictures!

I have 2 wholesale orders pending, 1 retail order pending, 2 donation orders pending. When I get those filled, it’s approx another 250 pieces out.

And just if I wasn’t busy enough? I’m trying to get approx 100 items loaded on etsy and bonanza.

I’m so lazy!

Here’s my pathetic tally:

OUT

To dump (swap shop):12 plastic wood print drawer inserts
Sold: 4 books, 3 bookcases, 3 custard cups, camera piece
10

Used: 12 pieces of patterned mat board to replace drawer inserts
Revealed: 6 bookcases. 1 floor
19

IN
Bought: 3 books, rack, mug, basket
From the dump: 1 book
7

today 29-7 = 22

old 9598 95.4%
new 9620 95.6%

2 responses to “Making it look good, with pics!

  1. Beth (Elizabeth)

    Good heavens, I thought I had a lot going on! You are doing wonderful. I am hoping to be able to get my get-up-and-go back soon. I am not feeling well; partially due to going off a medicine and one of the side effects is dizziness and the other is being really tired and cranky. I have so much to do and so much going on and I am so far behind it is really distressing. I am still trying to accomplish something so I make a little list everyday and just keep trying to put one foot in front of the other as much as I can. Sorry – didn’t mean to be a buzz-kill. Keep up the good work.

  2. Beth, Good grief I’m so sorry you’re feeling lousy!

    If I was sick, I couldn’t do this, or even close to it. I was sick over Christmas, and got hardly anything done. This isn’t a contest, or at least I hope not! I’ve just set my goals for this year probably impossibly high, and I have others (my husband) who’d really like me to get this done ASAP, which pushes on me too.

    I brought 6 boxes home yesterday from the storage, dang, forgot that. I’m not getting all that much done, believe me, for all that I have a LOT to do. I’ve written 2 pieces today (the other isn’t finished) cleaned the kitchen and started some laundry, not exactly a cleaning marathon!

    Get better soon and get them to change your meds so you feel better!

    J

Leave a Reply

