Cataloging, Filing, PTSD & Hoarding (Hurrah! or..?)

I started cataloging books again this a.m. Needs to happen if I’m going to deliver books on Sat. to the wholesale order and fill a new booth with books in 3 days??? I have to work on the furniture AND the books. The books are harder, they take up much less space and require more time & handling, so the books come first.

In between cataloging, I cleaned out two kitchen drawers. I don’t know when I cleaned them last, so I’m counting each as ½ a reveal, 1 point for both. I usually put a piece of tape with the date inside a drawer/bin when I clean it, but I didn’t. If I could get at the lining paper, I’d have lined them, but there’s no way. Maybe next week?

I finished sheeting the latest batch of 50 receipts. I’ve taken what I’m going to use as a “stock” photo for filing stuff, except that they came out all yellow because I did them in weird light. I’ll get DH to help me fix that.

A stack of 50 receipts


I tape receipts to a sheet of notebook paper, with the date/who paid/amount in the upper right corner. The sheets are filed in notebooks by date.

Sheeted receipts, filed in the notebook

When I do this regularly, the chore takes a few minutes a week, but I haven’t done this since we tore my office apart, months ago. I’m also reorganizing the files and filing cabinet, so I have a lot more filing/culling to do. It may take months . . . well, I hope not! My personal deadline is the end of February.

If I can file/refile 50 receipts and/or other pieces of paper every 2 days, that should be enough to be done by 2/29. We’ll see!

Filing is one of those jobs I LOVE having done, but HATE to do, so I want to put it off. I’m working on changing my habits AND cleaning out my space. This one is on the habit side.

In six minutes, I didn’t do anything today! What I did do was misplace the timer, sigh. DH is going to be annoyed, as he uses it making coffee in the morning, so I have to find it! (I did.)

The change from
4 clean ups to (two days ago) TO 2 clean ups (yesterday) TO
0 clean ups (today) is typical of my PTSD/hoarding behaviors.

The six-minute clean ups really worked. It was a minimal amount of effort & time. A part of me is running scared. I have not, and won’t go into the thoughts/feelings that got me where I am or have been. However, in brief, I will say that the idea of a clean house for years literally caused me to panic.

Rational? No, of course not. But I didn’t become a hoarder because I liked “stuff.” I became one because I felt safer with so much stuff around that people couldn’t tell what mattered to me. I’m not obsessed with the value of things, I’m not a collector where I must have all 1345894 of (whatever). I’m not afraid or unable to throw things out.

I’m someone who’s had safety issues in their own space, for most of her life. I know people who were in similar but not identical situations as kids and their reaction is to become neat freaks. I was just as obsessed, but from the other tack.

That is likely the only statement I’ll ever make about the how & why of my hoarding.

I’m beating the PTSD/abuse issues, slowly but surely. The what & how that got me here aren’t what I started this blog for. I started it as a place to track my progress or not.

I’ll badger myself into getting back into the six-minute cleanups. It may not be tomorrow, as I have a full day, mostly away from home.

My pictures are AWFUL. I’ll have to get DH to give me pointers. These are just embarrassing! Oh well, I’ll work on that, too. What’s a life without 1,000 things to work on at once?

OUT
Filed: 50 receipts
Revealed: (2 drawers) counted as 1 reveal

IN
From the dump: a strainer (forgot to count it yesterday)

51-1 = 50

old 9771 97.1%
new 9721 96.6%

4 responses to “Cataloging, Filing, PTSD & Hoarding (Hurrah! or..?)

  1. Cuz – I am proud of you. You are slowly inspiring me to let more & more of my hoard go. I don’t think I could ever count items. It takes a bravery I don’t have to count it all. In a funny opposite – we got 4 new bookcases today. To put a nice front on some of the books and a lot of paperwork.

    • Cuz, Good to hear about the bookcases!

      I started counting things for a goal on another site to fling the amount of things = the year. I did that, and after that it kind of became a game. The way the six-minute cleaning will be, when I get past the “terror” of it actually being successful? I’m just impatient w/ the PTSD and stuff ruling my life for 45+ years. I deserve to spend a few years as an adult! We’ve talked about this, and you KNOW I’m just not the most patient person around, especially with myself!

      Thanks for the support, as always. Many ((hugs)) to you and enjoy those bookcases!

      J

  2. Love the detail and the pictures!

    • Thanks Beth! The pics are weird, all yellow and odd, but I’ll get DH to help me “fix” them in photoshop. Or maybe I’ll get some other photos. We’ll see!

      Thank you for the comment, as always!

      J

Leave a Reply

