Haven’t quite finalized the new format yet

but it should be done, I hope, by the middle of next week. This post was written Wednesday, 1/4/12.

It’s COLD here, 4 degrees. My inclination is to curl up in bed with a cup of coffee and a good book. That’s my reward, if I get things done. The dump is open this afternoon & I need to take the trash/outs from last week (couldn’t go then) and this.

All the stuff I can think of adding to the dump bin has already been counted. I need to find new areas to clean/declutter/cull.

Let’s see . . . .

The fridge needs to be wiped out, and its contents culled as needed, but that’s part of the normal Wednesday dump routine. Even if I pitch 100 items (I won’t.) none of it is counted.

The long-term food storage also needs checking ( potatoes,onions, etc.) Again, this is routine and not counted unless I do pantry consolidation, pitch storage containers, or some such. The pantry shouldn’t give me much, if anything, to count either.

The laundry & bath are cluttered, so I suppose I’ll start there. They’re two of the smallest rooms, and so should be the easiest to keep clean. They are, but they also get cluttered really fast if I’m not diligent! There’s probably not a lot that will be counted from either as they’ve been cleaned regularly.

Last on today’s list is the attic. The bead dresser has been cleaned/removed. The trunk from storage needs to be cleaned and put in the attic and things stored in it. Storing previous clutter DOES count, so most of my tallied items today should be attic related. We’ll see! [Note: the trunk did NOT get put into the attic 1/4. That should happen later this week.]

Cleaned/revealed one corner of the attic; I’ll count this as 1. There are many spots that need to be cleaned/revealed that haven’t been in the past six months. This corner hasn’t been cleaned in probably 5 years. It was a dirty job, it sure needed cleaning! Revealed spots are usually nasty. And, I suppose that rewarding myself with a point for each isn’t overly indulgent. Is it? The rules say, “Regular clean up isn’t counted.” but this isn’t regular cleanup, not if I only do it every 5 years!

OUT

To dump (swap shop): 1 book, door mat, failed gallon of preserved lemons, 1 oak bookend, one sponge, 2 pieces of counter top (remainders of a now complete project, not pictured)

Dump stuff 1/4/12


To family:0
Sold:0
Donated:0
Gave away:0
Trashed: broken glass, chipped ceramic tile 2

Used: razor blade, box, 2

Spice bottle landing pad, box/razor blade used


Found new home/put away: 4 x 6 cards, stack of postcards – (both clutter in DH’s office), 3 tins of buttons 5

Moved from LANDING PADS: 32 uprights & shelves to attic

shelves, moved from LANDING PADS in livingroom, dining room, and DH's office to attic


Consolidation (a/k/a the Arlo Guthrie school of stuff management.)
pantry consolidation 1, office consolidation 1
Cleaned/revealed: 1 part of the attic
-51

IN
Bought:0
From the dump:0
To a landing pad:
bead dresser (temporarily parked in the livingroom, on its way to the antique store)1
+1
NOT YET COUNTED
20 used plastic bags to go to the antique store/ bookstore, or?,

today 51-1= 50

old 10011
new 9961

2 responses to “Haven’t quite finalized the new format yet

  1. Beth (Elizabeth)

    You are doing great and I am really enjoying the pictures.

  2. Glad you like the pics! I’m still figuring out how to make this work so I appreciate the feedback.

    J

Leave a Reply

